The Civic Committee is comprised of the senior leaders of the Chicago region’s leading employers. Its mission is to improve the Chicago region as a place to live, work, and conduct business.

We have a strong history of taking on broad, systemic issues that impact the Chicago region and Illinois and call for a sustained effort. These projects change over time and currently include efforts to:

  • Restore the State of Illinois to fiscal stability;

  • Improve the educational system in Chicago for all who live here;

  • Solidify Chicago’s position as a global transportation hub;

  • Grow Chicago’s position as a top tier technology ecosystem that promotes inclusive economic growth;

  • Help organizations become veteran-friendly employers.

We also work closely with the organizations we have helped create over our history:

  • The Civic Consulting Alliance builds pro bono teams of business experts, government leaders, and its own professional staff to work on transformative public sector challenges, such as reducing crime, increasing the availability of high quality healthcare, improving the educational system, and promoting economic growth.

  • Kids First Chicago is dedicated to ensuring Chicago’s public school system provides high quality, accessible options for all Chicago families.

The Civic Committee formed the Tax Policy Task Force in the summer of 2015 to examine the fiscal challenges facing the State of Illinois and to propose solutions. The Task Force issued its previous report, Bringing Illinois Back: A Framework for our Future, in May 2017.

This report, Restore Illinois: A Foundation for Growth, is an update and expansion of Bringing Illinois Back and presents the ongoing work of the Task Force to address the State’s financial situation.  

Tax Policy Task Force Members

Larry A. Barden

William J. Brodsky

John A. Canning, Jr.

James S. Crown

Tyrone C. Fahner

Jay L. Henderson (Chairman)

Robert A. Livingston

Andrew J. McKenna

Michael G. O’Grady

John W. Rogers, Jr.

Michael J. Sacks

Jennifer F. Scanlon

Frederick H. Waddell

Kelly R. Welsh

Civic Committee Authors

Mary K. Wagoner, Lead Author

Dea C. Meyer

Martha D. Boudos

Kirsten M. Carroll